Skip Navigation Links weather.gov 
NOAA logo-Select to go to the NOAA homepage NDBC Title GraphicClick to go to NDBC home page   Select to go to the NWS homepage
Home News Organization
 
 
    
    Station List

 Observations
    Mobile Access
    Obs via Google Maps
    Classic Maps
         Recent
         Historical
         DART®
         Oil & Gas ADCP
    Obs Search
    Ship Obs Report
    Gliders
    BuoyCAMs Image indicating link to BuoyCAMs page
    APEX
    TAO
    DODS
    HF Radar
    OSMC
    Dial-A-Buoy
    RSS Feeds Image indicating link to RSS feed access page
    Obs Web Widget
    Email Access

 Station Status
    NDBC Maintenance
    NDBC Platforms
    Partner Platforms

 Program Info
    Facebook Logo
    NDBC on Facebook
    About NDBC
     Met/Ocean
          Moored Buoy
          C-MAN
    TAO
    DART®
    VOS
    CSP
    IOOS® Program
    IOOS® DAC

 Publications
    NDBC DQC Handbook
    Hurricane Data Plots
    Mariners Weather
      Log

    Observing
      Handbook No. 1


 Science Education

 NDBC Director
 FAQ
 Media Inquiries
 Contact Us
 Visitor Information
 Links
 
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.

TAO performance improves after second service cruise. Read more...

What is Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)?

GMT was established to aid worldwide oceanic navigation and is based on the rotation of the Earth. It was not until the British railway system started using GMT in the mid 1800s that GMT was adopted "for land use". And it was not until the late 1800s that GMT was adopted universally. At this time, the 24 time zones were created along with the International Date Line.

I know, you want to know how to convert GMT into your local time zone. Well, it goes like this:

During Daylight Savings Time, GMT is 4 hours ahead of Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). So if the time is 0800 GMT, it is 4:00 a.m. in New York City and Miami and 1:00 a.m. in Los Angeles. During Standard Time, GMT is 5 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). So, 1000 GMT corresponds to 5:00 a.m. in New York City and Miami and 2:00 a.m. in Los Angeles.

Please note that GMT may be listed as Zulu (Z) or Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).